STAT 513 - University of Washington: Winter, 2016

Emerson Statistics Home  | University of Washington Courses  | Stat 512, Fall 2015  | RCTdesign.org

Scott S. Emerson, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Biostatistics
Department of Biostatistics
University of Washington

Stat 513: Statistical Inference (The second quarter of a two quarter sequence)
Review of random variables; transformations, conditional expectation, moment generating functions, convergence, limit theorems, estimation; Cramer-Rao lower bound, maximum likelihood estimation, sufficiency, ancillarity, completeness. Rao-Blackwell theorem. Hypothesis testing: Neyman-Pearson lemma, monotone likelihood ratio, likelihood-ratio tests, large-sample theory. Contingency tables, confidence intervals, invariance. Introduction to decision theory. Prerequisite: STAT 512 (concurrent registration permitted for these three).

Contact Information, Course Meeting Times, and Office Hours
Stat 513 Syllabus (pdf)
References for Stat 512-513
Supplementary Materials (including R)
 
Day   Date    Readings Homeworks Keys Handouts
Mon Jan 4 Review of Stat 512 notes
 
Tue Jan 5 CB: sec 11.3
 
Wed Jan 6 CB: sec 11.3 HW #01 due Jan 13 Key
 
Fri Jan 8 CB: sec 11.3
 
Mon Jan 11
 
Tue Jan 12
 
Wed Jan 13 HW #02 due Jan 20 Key
 
Fri Jan 15
 
Mon Jan 18
 
Tue Jan 19 HOLIDAY: Martin Luther King Day
 
Wed Jan 20 HW #03 due Feb 3 Key
 
Fri Jan 22
 
Mon Jan 25
 
Tue Jan 26
 
Wed Jan 27 HW #04 due Feb 3 Key
 
Fri Jan 29
 
Mon Feb 1
 
Tue Feb 2
 
Wed Feb 3 HW #05 due Feb 9 Key
 
Fri Feb 5
 
Mon Feb 8
 
Tue Feb 9
 
Wed Feb 10 Midterm Exam Key
 
Fri Feb 12
 
Mon Feb 15 HOLIDAY: Presidents' Day
 
Tue Feb 16
 
Wed Feb 17
 
Fri Feb 19 HW #06 due Feb 29 Key Takehome Midterm
 
Mon Feb 22
 
Tue Feb 23
 
Wed Feb 24
 
Fri Feb 26
 
Mon Feb 29
 
Tue Mar 1
 
Wed Mar 2
 
Fri Mar 4 HW #07 due Mar 11 Key MIKey
 
Mon Mar 7
 
Tue Mar 8
 
Wed Mar 9
 
Fri Mar 11
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mon Mar 14 FINAL EXAM Closed book, closed notes Key 8:30 - 10:20am, THO 125
 

Contact Information, Course Meeting Times, and Office Hours

Instructor:Scott S. Emerson, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistants

Nilanjana Laha nlaha@uw.edu
Office Hours (PDL B224): Tu 3:00p - 5:00p; Th 11:00a - 1:00p

David Whitney davidw19@uw.edu
Office Hours (HSB H657): M 3:30p - 5:30p

Office:HSB H655-J
Phone:206-616-6678
Email:semerson@uw.edu
Office Hours:M 2:00 - 3:30; F 1:30p - 2:30p
(or by appointment)

Times and Places

  MWF 10:30am - 11:20am THO 125
  Tu 12:30pm - 1:20pm THO 125

 

References for Stat 513

Casella & Berger:   Statistical Inference
Dudewicz & Mishra:   Modern Mathematical Statistics
Feller:   An Introduction to Probability Theory and its Applications, Vol. 1
Ross:   A First Course in Probability
DeGroot & Schervish:   Probability and Statistics (3rd ed.)
Bickel & Doksum:   Mathematical Statistics Basic Ideas and Selected Topics
Ferguson:   Mathematical Statistics - A Decision-theoretic Approach
Arnold:   Mathematical Statistics
Rao:   Linear Statistical Inference
Kendall, Stuart & Ord:   Kendall's Advanced Theory of Statistics
Knight:   Mathematical Statistics
Hogg, McKean & Craig:   Introduction to Mathematical Statistics (6th ed.)
Mood, Graybill & Boes:   Introduction to the Theory of Statistics (3rd ed.)
Severini:   Elements of Distribution Theory